Our Lifesaving Winter Essentials -Essentials In-A-Box Ultrasonic Vaporiser

For the last few days we have all been a bit under the weather, I took one for the team it seems and have had it way worse than the kids though, Alex had already had a cold and Frankie seemed to scrape through fairly unscathed, where I had to have a whole day in bed yesterday, thank goodness hubby was back from his hunting holiday and was able to stay home and hang out with the kids.

There was a good side to being sick, positive thinking is everything over here.  I was able to spend a whole day sleeping and lazing about but more importantly, I have been using our new Essentials In-A-Box Ultrasonic Vaporiser I was given to try out and review from ANZ Pharma Wholesalers Ltd.

I had never used a vaporiser before and that was because I didn’t like the fact that there was heated water and steam in my child’s room at night, perfect damp conditions to breed more bugs, in my opinion, not to mention all that condensation up the walls etc. But the Essentials In-A-Box Ultrasonic Vaporiser has changed my view on vaporisers and it’s one of those items I wish I had years ago when Alex was little.

When the package arrived, I was pleasantly surprised that it was so small, I was imaging a big cumbersome thing that was going to take over the bedroom.  As I investigated more on how it works, I found that the water is vibrated to create a cool mist, so there is no heating and no condensation.  The unit acts as a vaporiser, diffuser and air purifier all in one.

The unit has two modes of use – continuous mode or an intermittent mode (30 seconds on and 30 seconds off).  We used the intermittent mode so that the system stayed on for about 8 hours.  If it is in the continuous mode it will stay on for half the time.  You don’t have to worry about switching it off because it does that automatically.

The unit also has a night light option, with continuously changing colours or you can set it to the desired colour, or have it off which is what we did.

We have used the vaporiser for a number of nights over the last few days with positive results.  I was sleeping in the same room as Frankie and noticed that after 20 minutes or so of being in the room my throat was not dry and sore and I was able to have a great night sleep even though I was full of cold.  Frankie has also been sleeping well with her cold, which is normally not the case when she is unwell.

The unit is very quiet, all you hear is the water droplets moving to create the vapour fog, which I found quite relaxing.  The Vaporiser comes in three colours, blue, pink and white and you can order from ANZ Pharma Wholesalers Ltd. here.

ANZ Pharma Wholesalers Ltd. has a range of essential oils that you can buy, we were given a lovely calming blend with Ylang Ylang, Orange and Petitgrain. They have a Sniffles oil of Tea Tree, Eucalyptus and Lavender which is what you would use in the vaporiser when your child has a cold.  This blend is anti-viral, anti-Bacterial, a decongestant and relaxant all in one.

Also to support our systems while in the cold season I have listed below a couple of other products which use in our household.

KiwiHerb De-Stuff for Kids – Ear, Nose and Sinus Support.   I was introduced to the KiwiHerb Range last winter, and it was a lifesaver – this blend was amazing and I found within a few minutes of giving this to Frankie her nose would clear and she would be able to breastfeed again. They have also changed their dispensers, the new one is a lot more user-friendly. KiwiHerb is organic and made here in New Zealand.    I highly recommend if you haven’t checked out the KiwiHerb Range that you do so.

P1040887

Harkers Herbals Children’s Chest Soothe Night – Eases the chest and supports a restful night sleep.  I bought this in the weekend as KiwiHerb wasn’t available to purchase at the time so the kids haven’t tried this yet as there has been no need but I woke up one night with a sore chest and throat and had a 5mls of this syrup and was amazed that half an hour later my sore throat and chest had disappeared and stayed away, my barking cough relaxed and broke quickly.   Although I found this quite a thick and strong syrup, which some children may have an aversion to, I definitely rate it and I think older children would be fine with it. If you have younger children, you can always mix with water, natural juice before bedtime.  Harker Herbals are made right here in Hawkes Bay!

P1040888

Lotus Oils – Synergy Blend -I bought this from Food for Thought in Waipukurau, you can also buy this online here.  This blend called Colds Away is Tea Tree, Eucalyptus and Lavender.    When buying essential oils for your vaporiser, make sure you are buying good quality 100% essential oil.

P1040892

These are just a few things that have made our lives a little less congested this Winter. I would love to know what you use or recommend.

Becks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

