Aquamamma – Hydration for Bumps and Beyond

Keeping well hydrated while breastfeeding has always been one of the hardest parts of breastfeeding for me personally.   Although I am fairly good at drinking water the longer Frankie has been breastfeeding, the slacker I have become at keeping myself well hydrated and like other mums, I probably drink a little too much coffee.

If I think back to those early days when you spend most of your day and night breastfeeding, it is easier to remember to have a glass of water, or I would carry a water bottle with me so I was sipping all the time.    I do remember having that overwhelming urge as I sat down to feed Alex or Frankie that I needed a drink right that minute.  The same went for eating, if I needed a snack, I needed it right that minute otherwise I felt like I would fall over and die.    My advice to new mums since has been ‘make sure you have water and snacks where ever you go’!

This week I was lucky enough to receive a three pack of Aquamamma hydration drinks from Kidspot Mums Say to review.   Firstly I just have to say I was blown away by their overnight delivery, and looking at their Facebook page and reviews this isn’t a one-off either.  Excellent service, right from the start!

We all know what sports drinks taste like, I won’t name brands, but when I opened a bottle of Aquamamma I was expecting that sickly sweet taste that is all too common with the usual brands.    My first sip of Aquamamma and it just tasted like I was drinking a glass of water, it wasn’t until I had swallowed that the subtle hints of fruits came through.  The flavour is natural tasting, my favourite was the orange and least favourite was the lemon flavour which I did think tasted slightly artificial.  I could drink this every day and not feel overpowered by it.   Although I have only had three of these drinks over the last few days I do feel more hydrated, it’s easy to drink and when I have been thirsty I have reached for one of these instead of water and it’s quenched my thirst with a few mouthfuls.   I think Aquamamma would have been great for my early stages in pregnancy when I had all day nausea and sickness due to the fact it isn’t too sweet and overpowering.

Some Interesting Aquamamma Facts:  

  • Is formulated to help meet hydrated and electrolyte needs of pregnan18871039_10154357656721599_308834203_nt and breastfeeding women
  • Is great for all stages pregnancy, labour and breastfeeding.  This would definitely be packed in my hospital bag if we were to have another.
  • Easy to drink – Yes, I would have found this great when I was suffering all day nausea at the start of my pregnancies.
  • Contains small amounts of folic acid, essential in those first 12 weeks.
  • Low in sugar, calories and sodium.
  • Free from artificial sweeteners, colours and comes in a BPA-free bottle.

Even though this drink has been made for pregnant and breastfeeding women, it’s a drink that anyone wanting quick hydration with vitamins and electrolytes can drink.

Aquamamma is available from http://www.aquamamma.co.nz for purchase in 450ml and 1-litre bottles.  Aquamamma comes in three different flavours, Orange, Mixed Berry and Lemon.  There are different packages you can get and currently there is 30% off until the 31st August 2017 for New Zealand customers.

Thanks, Aquamamamma, I wish I had known about you 4.5 years ago with my first baby but I will be back on your website for future purchases.

Becks 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

