Be Kind with that Judgement

This morning two Social Media Pages I follow have been the target of public abuse from readers or people who don’t follow them but feel it necessary to abuse them anyway.

One page is a mum who advocates breastfeeding and heart centred parenting in a non-sugar coated way, the other is currently running two charity drives in Hawkes Bay.  Why you ask would someone want to abuse them?

Why?  Because both have the common theme, they are out there on social media and in life, doing it.   Trying to help bring awareness and change to our communities, both are helping other mums, other parents, other families.  Both have helped me in some way or another and also many others I know.

Sadly though not everyone likes it when people stand up and say they want to make a difference, or when someone wants to follow their dreams, gets positive feedback and encourages others to join in on the journey.

One of the many reasons I started blogging was to create change, I know that seems like a big gun hoe thing to say, but when trying to find the information about Free Play, about starting school later, and everything I wanted for my children, I found it really difficult.

When I first started my blog, I had well-meaning people say to me that I was going to get a lot of judgement for what I am doing, they even said I should tame down some of my posts and what I was sharing. Why? Because people won’t like it!

It’s interesting though because once I started blogging about play and sharing information on my own platform, I started finding other parents who were doing the same, who were delaying schooling and letting their children play.  I was finding my tribe and that is what happens when you share on the internet, when you do something different,  you find your tribe.

At the end of the day we all judge, it’s how the world works, it’s how we make decisions on how we want our life to be.  Humans are all different, and we will never agree on everything, what a boring world it would be if we all had the same thoughts and lived the same way.  We don’t have to like everything that is posted on the internet, however, we do have a choice on how we react to our judgement of it.  We can use that judgement to put others down so we can feel all powerful for getting it off our chest, or we can take that judgement and use it to better ourselves, making positive changes to how we live our lives.

On days like today when I hear about a wonderful person that is abused for doing good in this world a quote from Margaret Mead comes to mind.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has”. Margaret Mead 

And at the end of the day if you feel that passionate about changing something in our world the best thing to do is go out and do it! You will be amazed at what comes back to you tenfold.

Becks 

Leave a Reply

