Poetry Teatime – A cosy winter ritual

A few weeks ago I came across an Instagram Account called Poetry Teatime.   It was a beautiful collection of photos of families sitting at the table drinking tea and reading poetry.

One of my favourite things to do is drink coffee but I often feel sad that in our modern world that we often miss part of the experience with instant and take away coffee and tea bags.  Often we don’t even sit to drink our cups of tea and will drink it on the go.   We have forgotten to stop and and make time to drink from beautiful china teacups and have something lovely to eat whether it be scones, cake or biscuits.     I have memories of having morning tea at my Nana’s house when everyone had been out working on the farm.  My Nana and I would make the scones and then everyone would come in and have morning tea together.   It is such a special memory of this time of togetherness.

I love sitting around the kitchen table but when family members work away from home, we don’t have the chance to sit together to have morning or afternoon tea, However I still wanted to create a time for my children that slightly resembled what morning and afternoon tea once was.

On Friday which was our first rainy day for sometime I thought it would be good to have our first Poetry Tea Time.    So out came the old linen table cloth and my great grandmothers china teacups.  I made Alex a fluffy with marshmallows and sprinkles and I had a cup of herbal tea.  We had crumpets with golden syrup and gingernut biscuits.   I then read poems and rhymes from a Nursery Rhyme Treasury book that I gave Alex when he was a baby.

Alex loved the experience, He enjoys stories and poems and kept asking for more.  This is definitely something that incorporate into our weeks, especially during winter when the days are cooler.

For more inspiration I encourage you to look at the Poetry Teatime Instagram account. @PoetryTeaTime

For more of our adventures please check out @kidsplaynz on Instagram or Facebook.

 

Becks

 

 

Leave a Reply

