Making a start

Hey ya, I’m Becks, Mum of two, Alex (four) and Frankie (15 months). I’ve wanted to start this page, blog etc for some time now for a number of reasons firstly. – I have learnt so much over the past four years since having Alex on the benefits of letting children play, especially uninterrupted play without us adults interfering. When Alex was seven weeks old I was lucky enough to have a book by Pennie Brownlee recommended to me – ‘Dance with me in the Heart’, this book along with others took me on a journey of learning about the benefits of Play for children. It’s something that I have become so passionate about, I could talk about it all day.

When originally thinking about writing a blog last year I asked a mums forum what they did outside with their children, what sort of adventures did they have in their backyard. I didn’t get much in return, a couple of photos from people I knew and then a number of people saying they actually didn’t really do much outside. I guess I just take it for granted that my kids play outside. They always want to play outside, go for walks, swim in the summer, go to the beach, go for bike rides, the skate park get dirty in mud when it rains, the list goes on.

So finally after a full on year parenting my growing infant I have finally found some headspace to think about the idea again. I thought I would start out with a facebook page and Instagram account and see where it goes from there.

So if you want to feel inspired, follow us on our journey of learning through play, jump on board – you never know where it could take you.

Leave a Reply

